I watched it. Most of it.

Jon Stewart chose to do his monologue at the close of The Rally to Restore Sanity, rather than at the beginning.

Great move because he sent people away with a pitch-perfect closing. Sane, serious, non partisan, terrific monologue. I hope Comedy Central posts a transcript – I imagine video will be available, but I’d love to have a transcript. If anyone comes across one, please let me know. (He took exquisite aim at cable news, a favorite target of his.)

(One note: I wish he’d used the Daily Show ‘correspondants’ more. I’d love to have seen them all onstage doing maybe a tongue-in-cheek musical number a la the Capitol Steps. That would have been fun.)

Gosh I hope Rush watched.

7 responses to “I watched it. Most of it.

  1. he sent people away with a pitch-perfect closing. Sane, serious, non partisan, terrific monologue.

    I LOVE Jon Stewart. But this speech was horrible. It wasn’t funny. It was stilted. And it wasn’t new.

    Anyway, good to see the Liberals have their movement.

    Like

    • Stilted, ….pino,

      love that word… like the buzz of fifties Vegas Architecture…..
      So it wasn’t enough Rat Pack for ya!

      Needed some Beck brakin’ Western buzz.

      Stewart called for give a little ..get a little…”the pussy- commie?” What, you want, “Who’s on First” when, maybe ever third house is underwater. Let’s laugh that shit up.

      I thought the last monologue was legit-and heartfelt. He nodded to serious Christians and playing for real Tea-Party folk, Gop patriots, and licensed Libertarians.

      What he didn’t do was damn….anybody.

      I found it refreshing. I sorry you didn’t.

      Regards,
      Doug

      Like

      • Stewart called for give a little ..get a little…”the pussy- commie?”

        Aspects were valid enough. Everyone knows that we need to work more in the middle these days.

        I thought the last monologue was legit-and heartfelt. He nodded to serious Christians and playing for real Tea-Party folk, Gop patriots, and licensed Libertarians.

        Sure. Again, I don’t dispute.

        I found it refreshing. I sorry you didn’t.

        It was painful to listen to. On many occasions he paused for the laughter that never came. He spoke in the sentence. By. Sentence. Cadence. That. Is. Made. For……

        Speeches.

        You and I can deliver a message of cooperation, tolerance and inclusion. That doesn’t mean it’s a great speech.

        And this simply wasn’t.

        Like

  2. [On many occasions he paused for the laughter that never came] pino, that closing monolgue was Stewart as citizen, not comic.

    “If we amplify everything we hear nothing. ” (not a joke)
    “the image of Americans that is reflected back to us by our political and media process is false.” (not a joke)
    “We hear every damn day about how fragile our country is—on the brink of catastrophe—torn by polarizing hate and how it’s a shame that we can’t work together to get things done, but the truth is we do. We work together to get things done every damn day! . . . The only place we don’t is here or on cable TV. But Americans don’t live here or on cable TV. ” (not a joke)

    I think he did a service. Of course, I heard the annoying Howard Kurtz on CNN today completely miss Stewart’s point.

    Like

  3. pino, that closing monolgue was Stewart as citizen, not comic.

    No.

    You do not host a rally saying “Restore Sanity and/or Fear” unless you are trying to be funny. Jon trades in funny, it’s his currency. And he wasn’t.

    I think he did a service. Of course, I heard the annoying Howard Kurtz on CNN today completely miss Stewart’s point.

    Stewart missed Stewart’s point. And so are you.

    Jon is a true blue died in the wool Liberal. He bleeds liberal, he breathes liberal he IS liberal. The ONLY thing going for him is that he’s funny. So when Jon ‘effin Stewart comes out and says “Yo Tea Baggers, ya gotta give a little to my bitch Barack o’fuckin Bama, you’ll have to pardon the rest of us if we kinda say “Yeah, Buck Ofama.”

    He gave a mediocre to piss poor speech on a topic that we all acknowledge while being the biggest trumpet blower the Left has.

    Like

Leave a comment