I think our national embarrassment is running out of material, Cleveland edition

Could it be that since his syndicator is now saying that the ad dollars are dropping – by the millions – that the four-times married, morbidly obese public moralizer is sufficiently unsettled that he is surpassing even himselrush_limbaugh_cigarf?

“But as it so happens, I happened last night to watch Hawaii Five-0 on CBS,” he explained. “Hawaii Five-O‘s premise last night was kidnapped girls held until they were 18 and then let go or killed — well, always killed — by a couple doing it for the welfare benefits.”

Now I don’t know what happened in Cleveland, but I couldn’t help but make the connection.”

. . . to Obama of course.

UPDATE: I missed this remarkable bit  (h/t Crooks and Liars):

Limbaugh added: “Three brothers, but not related ri the three women, have been arrested in Cleveland — which voted Obama. Not that that’s got anything to do with anything.”

 

10 responses to “I think our national embarrassment is running out of material, Cleveland edition

  1. J.P. Douglas

    Moe,
    First off love your posts. Read all your stuff. But I have noticed that the left side of the internet such as yourself and Huffington Post etc.. give so much coverage to Fatty McLimbaugh, Anne Coulter, Parah Salin, the Donald. You guys need to stop. They are not worthy of it and they make a living off of saying outrageous things to get their name in the media and on the internet. I know maybe it leads to clicks or whatever but you are playing right into their hands. They are not worth the time or effort. There is nothing shocking anymore about the garbage that comes out of their mouths. They crave attention and they would probably thank you for the coverage you guys give them. Do you know how many times I’ve heard someone with a southern accent say,” Well I don’t like them personally but if they piss off the libs they’re alright with me.” Time for everyone to grow up and realize the left-right paradigm is just a way for the rich to divide us against ourselves and continue putting tons of money into their bank accounts and leaving nothing for the other 99%. Thank you for the bandwith to rant. Keep up the good work but more adult stuff please and less of these buffoons.

    Like

    • Hi J.P., love it when you stop by. You’re still missed.

      Now, that said, you are right of course. I and my brethren are just feeding the beast when we do this. But it is terribly tempting sometimes. I’ve tried, especially over the last two years, to check myself with the knee jerk stuff and refrain from being the twelve gajillionth lefty blogger to post the ‘outrage of the day’. I like to think I’m making progress but then I look over the last few months and can see there’s considerable work yet to be done on that ‘trying’ thing.

      So . . . good words from a wise man. I shall heed. But dear Elvis, can I not still go after Rush at least? Is there anyone more worthy? 😆

      Like

  2. He’s become a comedian.

    Like

  3. So what is the deal on dropping ad revenue? I’ve heard this, but given that a liberal Democrat in the White House keeps his type of listener glued to the radio in fear, wanting direction from El Rushbo, I’m surprised.

    What are the stats and from where? I don’t know.

    Like

    • Hey bruce (do you know that your gravatar doesn’t show up any more on your comments here?)
      I know what you mean but the drop is real – big national advertisers especially have been the targets of very successful write in campaigns and have gotten skittish. Not all of course, but enough. It may be that ad space gets filled up by smaller companies who don’t pay as much . . . ?

      Like

  4. I’ve always thought that had Romney pulled an upset, Rush would not have been pleased.

    Like

    • Agree. But nothing like how he’s reacted to Obama. Policies be damned; Rush has proven again and again his own outright racism.And long before Obama came on the scene.

      Like

  5. You mean like under the Bush administration, where if you reported the truth and/or asked tough questions you had your press pass tossed and the right wing discipline machine turned loose on you?

    Like

Leave a Reply

