The year in review?

In a comment thread below, reader Jim Wheeler – a thoughtful and sassy man with whom I share certain generational allegiances – offers some new bumper stickers for 2012. Roll the presses . . .

“Guns don’t kill people, they make it easier to kill a lot more people.”

“I can’t fathom that I live in a society that considers gun ownership to be a right, but health care to be a privilege.”

Got any more?

19 responses to “The year in review?

  1. I want to steal these for my FB page.

    Like

  2. What makes me proud to be an American: Health care cost induced bankruptcy

    Like

  3. I want the second one but fear my bumper isn’t long enough.

    Like

  4. Tony Soprano: Now a banker

    Like

  5. “I can’t fathom that I live in a society that considers gun ownership to be a right, but health care to be a privilege.”

    Actually, they are the same thing, or nearly so.

    You are equally free, or should be, to purchase a gun or to purchase an insurance policy. In neither case should a federal government compel you to purchase the item. Nor again in either case, should the government prevent you from said purchase.

    However, it IS interesting that the Constitution only speaks to one and not the other.

    I might suggest to Mr. Wheeler that if he feels the United States doesn’t serve his wants, other nations are available to live in. Or perhaps, the freedoms and liberties that we all enjoy here in America are based on the same premise that we are free to own guns are enough to incent him to remain in America. In other words, if we begin to ban guns to a sufficient level that would make him happy, we might no longer be the nation that he chooses to live in.

    Like

    • Before you criticize my faults you might take a look at your own lack of circumspection, pino. How many letters in your moral outrage have you written to your Congressman protesting the EMTALA law? If the answer is zero, which I suspect it is, then you need to get your libertarian act together.

      Like

      • Before you criticize my faults you might take a look at your own lack of circumspection, pino.

        Thanks for the life coaching Jim.

        How many letters in your moral outrage have you written to your Congressman

        I don’t count nor use such metrics to gauge my approval or disapproval of specific or general policy or laws. I haven’t even sent a letter to the White House objecting to Obama.

        protesting the EMTALA law? If the answer is zero, which I suspect it is, then you need to get your libertarian act together.

        Of course I oppose EMTALA.

        No individual has a claim upon the time or labor of another man. Period.

        Like

  6. The Constitution put in guarantees to protect Americans from it’s government . From the tyranny of a majority . It is always tempting to sell away those guarantees for free goodies like healthcare paid for by your neighbors .

    This is an interesting topic . I know some free healthcare for evabody, gay marriage lovin, sell out my grand kids for a SS check, Republican hatin Obama voters who love their guns . They are hoarding them now .

    Like

    • “free goodies’ “paid for by your neighbors”. That one always knocks me out – people using SS and Medicare paid for them. Still pay for Medicarre every month. A huge percentage of the people who will get healthcare under Obamacare would have gotten it in Emergency rooms with the bill going to the taxpayers.

      And dman my neighbors and all their kids, going to schools I pay for! (Of course, so do they.)

      We all pay for everythng that government provides – you just want taxpayers to pay for things you like and not pay for things you don’t like.

      How do you feel about police protection? Roads? Nat’l Institute of Health? Just wondering.

      Like

  7. Because I just saw an interview this morning, I have to toss in one just for you: 😉

    Rick Scott for Governor

    Like

    • A one-termer if there ever was one Frank. He is still the least popular governor in the whole US of A, quite a distinction.

      Or perhaps you mean “Alan Scott for Goernmor’??

      Like

      • LOL … Just wanted you to know that I thought of you as soon as Gov. Scott appeared on CNN. … and then to see you wanted bumper stick suggestion, I just couldn’t resist.

        Like

      • I’m getting all serious this morning. Maybe we can get some changes if we don’t forget…
        “Remember Newtown”

        Like

        • Woodstock, someone recently said that the model we should think of is M.A.D.D. – genuinely grass roots and it changed our culture and how we view drinking. A group of people from Newtown are tallking of organizing such a group.

          Like

    • james, it’s disgraceful what they tried to do – at least the guv and the lege are backing off now, pretending that they were ‘shocked, shocked’ that their little machinatios didn’t work out for them.

      For everyone who didn’t vote, two more stood in long lines for hours because they were so incensed by the efforts at suppression. That was geninely inspiring.

      And Happy new Year james!

      Like

Leave a Reply

