Nice things happen, even to people like me

Market day for me. It’s always the same: make a list, check it twice, pay up, load the car trunk and head home to do it all in reverse. Like I said – always the same.

But not today. I got home but my purse didn’t. I’d left it in the shopping basket after unloading. (This is, embarrassingly, not the first time I’ve done this, although to be fair it was ten years ago.)

Heart in throat I raced back to the supermarket. Up to the service desk, now breathless. Do you have my purse? No, sorry. Heartbeat takes notice. Now frantic, I head out to look at every shopping cart I can find in the parking lot, but stop because behind me someone is calling my name. Someone in the store uniform.  First I wonder how does she know my name? And then I know. My world is about to be whole again.

The store clerk had just gotten a phone call from a couple who said they’d found the purse and were headed to my house, but then thought they’d best call just in case I went there. And now, the clerk said, they were turned around and headed back.

I love those people.

 

9 responses to “Nice things happen, even to people like me

  1. Good things can happen to good people! 🙂

    Like

  2. Ms. Holland ,

    My senior moments unually involve my keys and one time a laptop . You are fortunate you live near good folks.

    Like

  3. You pray to the right Saints!

    Like

  4. Moe, when we lived there, I left my purse in a shopping cart in the parking lot. I was home before I realized what I had done. Tore back to Publix and there it was, right where I had left it. I got lucky, but I will always believe more people are honorable than not.

    Like

  5. ALLLLLLLLRIGHT!

    Like

  6. Why WOULDN’T nice things happen to you? You are perhaps the kindest, most generous person I know. Something about karma perhaps?

    Like

  7. Isn’t it Saint Anthony who is the patron Saint of lost things ?

    Like

Leave a Reply

