Hiatus? Hiatus over? Mid-hiatus? Even I don’t know (I’m going with hiatus almost over)

It is my habit at breakfast to keep a pen and notepad at hand along with a small pair of scissors. While I read my paper and sip coffee, glorious coffee, I jot down thoughts to perhaps follow up on later, and often – too often – clip articles with interesting passages highlighted. (I tried that underlining thing – did you know that ball pens often cut through newsprint?) And thus do I seed posts for Whatever Works.

After the ritual, I drop  the morning harvest into a wire basket in the office. If the basket starts to fill up, I do some aggressive weeding, which isn’t hard since much of this is far less interesting at second look.

Right now the basket is full. It is overflowing. It is intimidating.  It has become the enemy. It mocks me mercilessly. And it impedes blogging.

I’ve learned that some things can be left unexamined without doing any harm. So it shall be and so shall I be unbloggy until I face down that nasty basket and strip it of its power. The wastebasket and I shall overcome. Soon.

Meanwhile, it’s summer, the pool and grill beckon, the days are blessedly slow and quiet time is here for the taking, not stolen as in other seasons.

This may be over tomorrow – hell, it could even be later today. So this post shall serve either as explanation for why no blogging, or a return . But that’s summer:  non-committal, and that’s okay.

3 responses to “Hiatus? Hiatus over? Mid-hiatus? Even I don’t know (I’m going with hiatus almost over)

  1. Good to see you back, however tenuously. I’m a worrier and when there is nothing new at WW, it is cause for concern. Drop a match in the basket and start over. You know the news is an never-ending source of new items and the old ones will not be missed by the rest of us.

    Like

  2. Post or not, it’s quite poetic.

    Like

  3. or….
    you can have your site go down for a day……
    like mine has….

    and then you switch over to second wp blog
    http://jamesb101.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

