Thank you Ann Romney for the confirmation

Last week I said this:

Romney is increasingly sounding like someone who believes that whatever he chooses to share with the electorate ought to be enough for them. Noblesse oblige and all ya’know.

Yesterday Ann Romney said this.

Ann Romney dismissed concerns about her husband’s tax returns Thursday, contending that the two of them have “given all you people need to know.”

. . . “We’ve given all you people need to know and understand about our financial situation and how we live our life,” she added later.

I don’t think it could be any clearer – we’re little people and we should just be satisfied with what they choose to let us know. It’s really not our business. Just like, as she says, it’s not our business how they live their lives..

You might want to check the Republican platform Ann – it’s all about how your party thinks we should we live our lives. It’s conservative orthodoxy that a morality, apparently a Christian inspired one, must be imposed upon those of us who don’t fit.

Also, I want to know if you guys wear that magic Mormon underwear. Because if you do, isn’t that likereligion requiring men wear a beard and women cover their heads? Isn’t that kind of like Sharia?

17 responses to “Thank you Ann Romney for the confirmation

  1. I think its more like a frustrated wife who gets asked the same questions 100 times a day – she just happened to respond in such a way that sounded harsh. Being realistic I don’t think there is any reason to take this to seriously. Both Hilary Clinton and Michele Obama have said things that could be taken as elitist too.

    Like

    • Welcome Atticus – a very honorable name you’ve chosen there. I sometimes wish I blogged annonymously (I visited your place); I could be much more honest I think!

      I do think you’re right about how things come out sounding terrible but aren’t meant that way. And we all tend to leap too quickly on stuff like that. But in this case, what she said supports the restt of the narrative. A few days back I said:
      “Romney is increasingly sounding like someone who believes that whatever he chooses to share with the electorate ought to be enough for them. Noblesse oblige and all ya’know.”

      I still beleive that.

      Like

  2. What caught my attention was how she wanted to be considered swell for donating 10% to their church. That’s required of mormons, so they’re not overly angelic in doing it.

    Like

  3. Ann Romney needs some of those “language lessons” (see previous post). Pissed me off the mnute I saw it.

    Like

    • It’s pretty shocking Donald – pretty shocking. I honestly don’t know how an entire political party could celebrate someone who thinks he needs a ‘car elevator’ in one of his houses. It’s so over the top . . .

      Like

  4. What I think the GOP base is supposed to hear is Mrs. Romney flipping off the press by the phrase ‘you people’. We’ll see how it gets received I suppose.

    Like

  5. I like the ‘check the platform’ crack — hope you Facebooked it too.

    Like

    • My blog does stream onto facebook – people comment over there sometimes, but I wish they’d come here and do it instead.. I am, after all, a blogwhore!

      Like

  6. It’s hard to take anything either of them say when they are wearing secret magical mormon underpants. I’ve seen the Mormon version of Victoria Secret (http://mormonssecret.com), and anyone who takes this stuff seriously should expect the American public to be highly skeptical of them as a candidate that would protect the interests of all Americans.

    Like

    • Hey D, welcome. And THANK YOU for that link – wonderfully funny. I’m actually stunned that the underwearr thing doesn’t seem to make it into mainstream media. I haven’t even seen Stewart or Colbert joke about it.

      Like

      • Right? Hilarious idea for a Halloween costume. Just need to find a Mitt Mask, or missionary name tag sticker. I’m sure the Colbert Report or Stewart will pick it up as the race heats up. No doubt we are all in for lts of fun mormonism-in-the-media ahead. And since the South Park boys already paved the way with Book Of Mormon the Musical, I bet more people are primed for the material.

        I hate rereading what i quickly typed out on my iPhone while shopping. I wish you could edit a comment for grammar after the fact. Given the opportunity, I would have corrected the above to read:

        It’s hard to take seriously anything either of them say when they are wearing secret magical mormon underpants. I’ve seen the Mormon version of Victoria’s Secret (http://mormonssecret.com), and well, it’s good fun. Anyone who takes religious stuff of any variety seriously, but especially Mormonism, should expect the American public to be highly skeptical of their candidacy. By which I mean, skeptical that as president they would protect the interests of all Americans.

        Like

        • Typo is my middle name. Sometimes I just type too fast and am in too much of a hurry. I have the capacity to edit my own (and yours I think) but I guess it doesn’t extend to you.

          And now I can’t wait for Halloween – and it’s just a few days before election day! Yeah!

          Like

  7. Yeah, we’re the little people. I’m actually ok with that. It’s when the privileged rub it in your face and speak with such condescending language toward us “peasants”, that I have a problem with. The Romney’s couldn’t be more out of touch with “you people”, if they lived on Mars.

    Like

    • Exactly Vent. It’s like wealth – I am absolutely fine with people being wealthy – good for them. I am however NOT fine with so many of the wealthy thinking they did it by themselves. Obama was right – WalMart would’t be in business without the interstates to move their inventory.

      Like

Leave a Reply

