Take comfort. Or, plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose

I perused my own QUOTES page for historic words, relevant to our times – and found some. Take comfort:

In my many years I have come to a conclusion that one useless man is a shame, two is a law firm and three or more is a congress.                      John Adams

I don’t make jokes. I just watch the government and report the facts.                                                                                                          Will Rogers

Talk is cheap…except when Congress does it.                                 Anonymous

There is no distinctly Native American criminal class…save Congress.                                                                                                 Mark Twain

We hang the petty thieves and appoint the great ones to public office.                                                                                                              Aesop

Suppose you were an idiot. And suppose you were a member of Congress. But I repeat myself.                                                                                      Mark Twain

Meanwhile, let us not forget that:

Taxes are what we pay for a civilized society            Oliver Wendell Holmes

You can have wealth concentrated in the hands of a few, or democracy. But you cannot have both.                                                                              Louis Brandeis

And, having absolutely nothing to do with politics, my personal, all time favorite:

One does not stand still looking for a path. One walks; and as one walks, a path comes into being.                                                                                   Mas Kodani

 

8 responses to “Take comfort. Or, plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose

  1. I love the last one. It sort of removes all this crap about defining strict goals and controlling your life. Take it easy, and enjoy it 🙂

    Off-point;
    this latest Romney stuff is really dark and bad I think… Physical violence and abuse of others, that’s a definite no-go. That is vile.
    Say what u want about W, but I bet he’s fun company for a beer or even a hike in the mountains.

    Like

    • When I fiirst heard about that teenage Romney thing, I though “oh give it a break, kids do stupid things”. I dismissed it because it was represented oppp research whilch I hate.

      But then I stepped back and thought a bit about it. I tried to visualize that happening to me. And I am stunned by how quickly that changed my reaction. You have it right. Vile. And he should have been expelled – alll of them should have.

      Like

      • I think, too – that if this stuff was right.. that it changed the whole perception of Romney from a sort of “lost in logic” type of guy, a remote and “value-less” person b/o a brain on narrow overdrive into analysis – from that and into a guy hiding his true nature because he knows it’s bad. He knows very well what he’s doing, but pretends it’s lifeless utility-maximizing calculations – in the line of thought like “a predatory society is good” and so on..

        It also puts a somewhat different complexion on some of the other stories about him too.. as well as the death star campaign tactics they’ve been doing last six months. For a few days now I’ve balked at the sight of him. Not good.

        Like

  2. Everthing OLD is New again…..

    The Romney stuff is just side dressing….
    For the next four months you’ll get it fast furious on BOTH sides….
    I’d hope we would Choose someone to vote for that will go in the direction WE want them to….

    Like

  3. “ It is true that liberty is precious, so precious that it must be rationed. ”
    ” A lie told often enough becomes the truth . ”
    Vladimir Lenin

    Like

    • On that second one, Lenin is echoing the Greek and Roman philosophers – not to mention Madison Avenue, which built an industry out of that single truth – he states a universal fact of human dynamics. (The first one is nonsense and I don’t even understand it.)

      In any case, have you got any from American history about government? That’s the theme here.

      Like

    • There’s also this on my QUOTES page:
      A lie can travel halfway around the world while the truth is still putting on its shoes. – Mark Twain

      Like

Leave a Reply

