Here is a perfect example of how false outrage is ginned up over nothing, in this case claiming ‘cover up’ of a video already seen twice on PBS, once in a documetary about the ’08 election.(This is only the second time I’ve actually ‘reblogged’, and llike the first, this one is from Kay at The Fifth Column.)

The Fifth Column

So much for the infamous college video Andrew Breitbart promised he’d release prior to his untimely death, that would expose President Obama as a left wing radical…

The Raw Story

Breitbart.com editors Ben Shapiro and Joel Pollak said Wednesday on Sean Hannity’s radio show that they would release footage that proved President Barack Obama had “radical intellectual founders” — footage which was covered up by the mainstream media.

But before Breitbart.com released the footage, PBS Frontline published the full unedited video themselves, noting that they had previously included the footage in their election special The Choice 2008.

“There’s nothing new about the clip or Obama’s role in the controversy at Harvard Law School,” PBS said. “It’s been online at our site and on YouTube since [2008].”

In the video, Obama is shown in 1990 introducing Harvard’s first tenured black law professor, Derrick Bell, a racial justice pioneer who broke with…

View original post 482 more words

16 responses to “

  1. When did making mountains out of molehills take precedence over reporting actual news? Oh yeah, when Ailes took over. And Murdock. Now I remember.

    Thanks for reblogging this.

    Like

    • Michael Johnson

      We used to have the Fairness Doctrine “that required the holders of broadcast licenses to both present controversial issues of public importance and to do so in a manner that was, in the Commission’s view, honest, equitable and balanced.”

      Then Reagan got rid of it.

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fairness_Doctrine

      Like

      • Actually, I remember. I’m old. I am the only living soul who actually saw Reagan’s 2nd Inaguration. No because I wanted to but because my car broke down on the parade route (it was very cold and everything was cancelled). I was a lobbyist throughout the 80s. Life was better before Reagan in oh, so many ways.

        Like

      • Welcome Michael, I see you’re a favorite of John Hinderker! I usesd to go over there to see what he was up to, but honestly just can’t handle it any more.

        Anyway – I remember the end of the Fairness Doctrine. We’ve gone from that to a word where simply using the word ‘fair’ is mocked. Like Elyse said, thanks Roger Ailes..

        Like

        • Michael Johnson

          I think we could use the Fairness Doctrine again. I’m living in Canada right now, where there still is one. The discourse is much more civil here. Of course the current conservative government tried to pull a Reagan but thankfully they were denied.

          http://mwcnews.net/focus/politics/9037-fox-news-lies-keep-them-out-of-canada.html

          Like

          • I was watching BBC America news tonight (no one else here does actual news anymore except for PBS) and saw something just humiliating. They were covering the solar flare story and included some outtakes from how “American news organiztions” were treating it with fake hysteria. (FOX and NBC). So maybe fair just doesn’t matter any more, since we’ve become idiots anyway.

            Like

  2. The only thing untimely about Brietbarts death is that it didn’t happen decades ago.

    Like

  3. In response to your comment on my page that my “Like” ended up somewhere else on your blog! But looking up there, my “LIKE” picture (the coast of Maine) is there where it belongs. Something funny is happening. Perhaps you need to contact Support.

    I’ll keep commenting though. You might just have to hunt for them!

    Oh brother! I liked this one: https://maureenholland.wordpress.com/2012/03/08/12837/#comment-17419 and I hit “like” AND commented. I will post this one over there too, as an experiment.

    Like

    • Alright! – both the ‘Like’ and your comment appeared here just fine. Don’t know what changed. If it happens again, I’ll take your advice and contact support.

      (The link you put in the comment above is to this post, right?)

      Like

      • Yes, the link is to the PBS already Aired Obama footage post!

        Glad it went to the right place, this time, anyway!

        Like

        • I just had an email with Brian’s comment (above) that didn’t show a post title either, but it did land in the right place. I’m starting to wonder if it has anything to do with reblogging. I’m going to keep an eye on this.

          Like

  4. I heard his editor-in-chief this morning … Joel Somebody … and the next time I hear him, long live the Mute button.

    Like

  5. I’m not a fan of the fairness doctrine. Sorry.

    Like

    • I’m not really either bruce, but it – or something like it – has a place on federally owned broadcast spectrums. It woulndt apply to cable today. Not to say there isn’t a problem, just that we need a different way to address it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

